NaNoWriMo, Pumpkin Soup & Mince Pies

I think I first heard of this Nano thingy last year – I had trouble saying it, let alone consider taking part.  It just seemed totally daunting – writing a novel is hard enough, but doing it in a month!  No way.

But this year has seen me connect with many more writers, mostly through the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) and some are tackling the Nano thing again this year.  So I thought why not?  I’ve finished with the manuscript I started for my MA (for now anyway) and rather than sit checking my inbox every half hour for agents’ responses, I thought it’s the perfect opportunity to start with the idea that’s been rattling around in my head for the last month or so.

So I signed up but calculated that with weekends away and visitors at the end of the month, I’m only left with 19 days, which means over 2,600 words a day.  Ok, I know that’s not realistically feasible, especially as research is again essential to my story.  However, I concluded that I need to start somewhere and if this month sees me getting the next novel off the ground then that’s got to be a positive hasn’t it?

But then life intervenes and those 19 days will still be full of the mundane – today I had food shopping to do.  Along with two dog walks, laundry and cleaning up after said dogs and a school run.  But I hear you cry, ‘What about those of us with a paid job as well?’  Well you no doubt fall into the very admirable group that get up at the crack of dawn to write, unfortunately for me it takes me a good hour and a mug of tea to come around – but that’s something I can work on.  So along with the food shopping etc, I have written 733 words today and that’s 733 words that probably wouldn’t have been written if it hadn’t been for Nano whatsit.  And … because a kind friend donated 2kg of pumpkin to me this week I have actually made pumpkin soup in between.  And … because it’s that time of year and the five jars of mincemeat that I made over the weekend are sat on the worktop and there was left over pastry in the fridge, I’ve also made the first of many batches of mince pies.  So all in all I think it’s been a productive day.  Ok so I haven’t completed over 2,600 words or even the daily amount that Nanowrimo demands (1,666), but as I said it’s 733 more words than would have been written otherwise.  In total 1330 words so far – at least I’ve got the ball rolling.

Now, I think it’s time for another cuppa and one of those mince pies…

Leave a Reply

